Truck  |  Corporate 

MAN does the triple: Jochen Hahn is FIA Truck Racing Champion 2011

The FIA European Truck Racing Championship 2011 came to an end with a one-two victory for the MAN teams on the 24-hour track at Le Mans: Jochen Hahn's second place in the third race on Sunday sealed his first Championship. "After eleven years I've achieved the goal I'd been dreaming of," said the visibly emotional European champion at the FIA gala later that evening. "And I'm also really happy to be taking a title back to Germany after a long drought!"

Antonio Albacete, whose chase in the final third of the season injected new excitement into the Championship, was the runner-up for the title, while Team Cepsa - Truck Sport Lutz Bernau was able to celebrate its title win on Saturday. The pairing of Antonio Albacete and Uwe Nittel got the better of two Renault teams and the Buggyra team's two Freightliners.

Head of motor sport at MAN, Björn Loose, congratulated the successful drivers: "We are very pleased indeed to have won the Championship. In Jochen Hahn, the Truck Racing Championship celebrates a winner who kept it tense right up to the end. MAN's success is rounded off by Antonio Albacete's place as runner-up and by the team title in the European Championship. This spurs us on to go into the next season with all we've got."

For MAN, the title won by Jochen Hahn is the eleventh individual title won by a driver of the brand in recent years. In 2011, the MAN trucks started in a field brimming with tough competition from other brands. On the second race weekend in Misano, however, Jochen Hahn set the pace, making a clean sweep of all four Championship races there to take a comfortable overall lead.

The racing-engine experts from the Engine Competence Center in Nuremberg supported the MAN racing teams all the way to the chequered flag. Artur Klein’s team is responsible for preparing the racing engines as well as for service at the race track.

In the 2011 season, the MAN teams again represented the whole bandwidth of the European Truck Race spectrum. In addition to the professionally organised teams, MAN drivers racing for non-professional teams also took part with notable success. Amongst them were the Spaniard Javier Mariezcurrena, who took a highly acclaimed victory in Nogaro, as well as multiple Finnish champion Mika Mäkinen and Jose Bermejo with various top-ten finishes. Bermejo's most successful race was suitably in front of his home crowd in Jarama, near Madrid.

The Hungarian Oxxo team showed its selection skills when it presented a new driver in Zolder. Norbert Kiss missed out on a podium spot by the smallest of margins in his debut race and then took a sensational win in Jarama on only his second outing in a race truck. Kiss was also on the podium again in the final races in Le Mans and counts as one of the most promising talents in the series. He has been awarded “Rookie of the Year”.

„My dream has come true“: Jochen Hahn wins FIA Truck Racing Championship 2011

Winning MAN TGS Racetruck of 2011 FIA Truck Racing Champion Jochen Hahn in parc fermé in Le Mans, France.

The workplace of the 2011 Champion

Vice Champion: Antonio Albacete was finally runner up in the standings